Girl Overboard History 2

The next single "Change My Sex" was largely ignored by radio. John Favaro joined the band on bass guitar and another single, "Wrap Your Arms Around Me" was released. The band began recording their debut album "Paint a Picture" with producer Ross Fraser at Metropolis Studios in Melbourne. The name change to Girl Overboard came with the release of the next single - "I Can't Believe". Four singles were released from this album including the top 20 hit "The Love We Make". The band toured extensively to promote "Paint A Picture" culminating in a trip overseas to write material for the next album.


Armed with more than enough songs, the band began pre-production for their second album "GO" with veteran producer Charles Fisher who gave the collection of songs an overall sense of cohesion while new drummer Tony Day settled into the line-up. Although spawning turntable hits with "Your Love", "Chain Of Fools" and "Jackie", "GO" was not the success hoped for and some band members became disillusioned. The band finally broke up in 1993.







<back next>

_-lisa schouw